

The Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry 2011



November 14, 2011 (Novori Conference Hall, Nagoya University)

The Nagoya Medal Prize (Gold Medal) has been awarded every year since 1995 to an organic chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field, in its broadest sense. The Silver Medal has been presented since 1999 to a young Japanese scientist whose research has had a major impact on the field of synthetic organic chemistry. The recipients of the Gold and Silver Medals 2011 will deliver the Nagoya Medal Award Lectures on November 14, 2011 at Nagova University in Nagova, Japan.

Gold Medal Award Lecture

- 1 "The Hydrolytic Kinetic Resolution Reaction"
- 2 "Asymmetric Catalysis with Chiral Hydrogen-Bond Donors"



Professor Eric N. Jacobsen was born in New York in 1960. He obtained a B.S. degree from New York University in 1982, and completed his doctoral dissertation in 1986 with Prof. Robert G. Bergman at University of California, Berkeley. After working at MIT as a postdoctoral fellow under Prof. K. Barry Sharpless (1986-1988), he joined the faculty at University of Illinois as an assistant professor in 1988, and was promoted to associate professor in 1991. In 1993 he moved to Harvard University as a professor, and he was appointed to the Sheldon Emery Professor of Chemistry in 2001. His research interests center mechanistic synthetic and chemistry. development of new methods for organic synthesis with emphasis on asymmetric catalysis. Recent awards: Mitsui Catalysis Award (2005), Alan R.

Day Award (2007), ACS H. C. Brown Award for Synthetic Methods (2008), Yamada-Koga Prize (2008), Ryoji Noyori Prize (2010), etc.

Silver Medal Award Lecture

"Design, Tactics, and Findings in Natural Product Synthesis"



Professor Keiji Tanino was born in Hyogo in 1963. He received his B.S. (1985), M.S. (1987) and Ph.D. degree (1994) from Tokyo Institute of Technology under the supervision of Prof. Isao Kuwajima. During Ph.D. study, he was appointed as an assistant professor at the Tokyo Institute of Technology After he moved to Hokkaido (1989-1998). University as an assistant professor in 1998, he was immediately promoted to an associate professor in 1999, and he has been a full professor since 2006. Incentive Award in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (2000), Mukaiyama Award (2007).

Previous RECIPIENTS

Gold Medal Lecturers

1995 Yoshito Kishi

1996 W. Clark Still

1997 Robert H. Grubbs

1998 Henri B. Kagan

1999 Samuel J. Danishefsky

2000 Manfred T. Reetz

2001 Kyriacos C. Nicolaou

2002 Dieter Seebach

2003 David A. Evans

2004 J. Fraser Stoddart

2005 Koji Nakanishi

2006 Steven V. Ley

2007 Larry E. Overman

2008 Barry M. Trost

2009 Jean M. J. Fréchet

Silver Medal Lecturers

1999 Keisuke Suzuki

2000 Takuzo Aida

2001 Eiichi Nakamura

2002 Shu Kobayashi

2003 Makoto Fuiita

2004 Keiji Maruoka

2005 Michinori Suginome

2006 Jun-ichi Yoshida

2007 Mikiko Sodeoka

2008 Masahiro Murakami

2009 Kyoko Nozaki

Nagoya Medal Special Award

Her Royal Highness Princess Chulabhorn Mahidol

2010 Anniversary Seminar

Ryoji Noyori Hisashi Yamamoto Silver Medalists

Organizing Committee: K. Ishihara, M. Isobe, K. Itami, Y. Uozumi, T. Ooi, M. Kitamura, N. Shibata, T. Nishikawa, H. Nishiyama, R. Noyori, S. Tanaka, N. Miyata, Y. Mori, E. Yashima, S. Yamaguchi, H. Yamamoto.

Financial Support: Banyu Life Science Foundation International



Chairman: Prof. Masato Kitamura, Research Center for Materials Science, Nagoya University, Chikusa, Nagoya 464-8602, Japan. Phone +81-(0)52-789-2957; Fax +81-(0)52-789-2958; E-mail kitamura@os.rcms.nagoya-u.ac.jp; URL http://www.banyu-zaidan.or.jp/sympo/nagoya/index.html.